Bounty Hunter or Bail Enforcer requirements in Oklahoma

What are the basic requirements to become a bounty hunter or bail enforcer in Oklahoma?

To become a licensed bail enforcer, more commonly called a bounty hunter, in Oklahoma one has to be 21 years of age, of good moral character, hold a high school diploma or GED, have no final victim protective orders issued and be a natural born United States citizen or an alien legally residing in the United States.

bounty hunterThe potential licensee must also be a resident of Oklahoma for a minimum of 6 months and have no disqualifying criminal convictions. There are a number of disqualifying convictions but if it has been 5 years from the incident and the offense was a misdemeanor CLEET (Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training) may still issue a license. If the offense was a felony the period of time is 15 years before CLEET will consider issuing a license.

Bail Enforcement Licensees in Oklahoma can be either armed or unarmed. CLEET requires phases 1,2,3,5 to be taken for the unarmed license and CLEET 1-5 for the armed license. The applicant must submit a certificate of training for Taser and Noxious Substance use as well.

CLEET Phases:
I,II- Basic unarmed security skills.
III- Private investigator training.
IV- Basic firearms training.
V-Bail enforcement training.

The applicant must also take and pass the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory (MMPI) which is a psychological evaluation, submit proof of liability insurance or an individual bond in a minimum amount prescribed by CLEET and pass local and nation wide background checks.

What is the punishment for Bounty Hunting in Oklahoma without a license?

Anyone portraying themselves as a bail enforcer or performing duties of a bail enforcer without a valid license issued by CLEET in the state of Oklahoma can be convicted of a felony, fined $10,000.00, and imprisoned for up to 3 years in the Department of Corrections (DOC). If the accused is in possession of a firearm or weapon they may face an additional fine of $5,000 and an additional 3 years of imprisonment in DOC.

Oklahoma Bail Enforcers / bounty hunters can carry what weapons?

bounty hunters weaponsAccording to CLEET guidelines, “‘Weapon’ means taser, stun gun, baton, night stick or any other device used to subdue a defendant, or any noxious substances as defined in the Bail Enforcement and Licensing Act.”

How much does it cost for aspiring bounty hunters to get an Oklahoma Bail Enforcer License?

The cost for the Oklahoma Unarmed Bail Enforcer License is $300.00 and the cost of the Armed Bail Enforcer License is $400.00. The cost for the CLEET classes and Taser/Noxious substance classes range from $100.00-$200.00 depending on where you take the courses. A list of training facilities can be found here.

How do Bounty Hunters in Oklahoma find fugitives?

Hopefully the bondsman has taken a good application from the defendant and the cosigners for the bond, this is always the first place a bail enforcer looks to get information about where the fugitive might be. From there, the bounty hunter may use background checks, social media searches etc. in order to find the fugitive or family and friends that might know where they may be concealing themselves. Bail Enforcement Agents use their network and also sometimes receive help from local, state and federal agencies as well in pursuit of fugitives.