Different states have different laws on how they classify drug and alcohol laws. In Oklahoma, DWI and DUI laws are pretty similar, but one crucial once over the blood alcohol limit can send you from a DWI charge to a heavier fine of a DUI. Here’s some important info to know the difference between the two should you ever blow close to or over .08 on a breathalyzer:
While all 50 states have a law stating that is is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher, many people think that they can still drive while impaired and not suffer any consequences. If you get pulled over and blow below .08 but over .05,a police officer still finds you a danger to society, and you can be charged with a DWI, which is driving while impaired. 1st time charges of someone over 21 years of age will have their license suspended for 30 days,while 3rd time offenses have 1 year suspension, then jail. If accident or injury occured while you were driving while impaired, you could get a criminal penalty fine of $100 and up to 6 months imprisonment.
Commercial and truck driver be aware that if you have a CDL, you can only have a BAC of .04 before you can get arrested in Oklahoma!
1st time offenders get a misdemeanor charge with jail time of 10 days and a fine of $1,000. 3rd time offenders get a felony charge, jail time of 1-10 years, and a $5,000 fine.
It is also extremely important to note that every person who signed their signature on their driver’s license in every state has agreed to implied consent, a law that states that a refusal to be tested by a police officer for drug and alcohol usage means automatic arrest and revocation of your license.